Return Home: The Echoes Resound

Return Home

"The 'musicking' art of Ann Ruane is a well spring that arises from her own deep listening. As her sounds weave into truth bearing phrases, I take notice as my own listening deepens. This music wants more than my ears.

Ann's poiesis, be it in music or words, arises out of deep listening. This courageous art filled presence engenders an audacity that makes me ask: Could it be that the only thing more dangerous than 'listening to the whispers of my heart' is listening to anything less, however noisy it might be?"

Harold McKinney, D.A.
Professor Emeritus, Appalachian State University
Visiting Artist, Lecturer and Professor for The European Graduate School

Track Listing

1. Divine Spirit
2. Prayer
3. Shifting the Lens
4. Hope
5. Reflection
6. Remembrance*
7. See Me
8. Worthy
9. Awaken My Senses
10. Sweet Surrender
11. Hollowed Out
12. Conversations
13. Forsaken
14. Teach Me
15. Confusion
16. Gratitude
17. Come Home

*Music by Laura Fannon, arranged for solo piano by Ann Ruane

Recordings mixed by Ann Ruane and mastered at the SoundLAB at DiscMakers.

Thank you to Ted Deacon at his team at DiscMakers for helping me navigatethe production of this CD.

A Special Thank You to Tracy Delfar for her stunning artwork, photography, and graphic design of the CD cover and case. My deep gratitude for her ability to see, feel, and hear my music and respond with her grace-inspired gift.

About the Composer-Ann Ruane

Born with an insatiable hunger to play the piano, it became a reality when I was 11 years old. There was something about the piano that resonated deeply within me...the colors, the styles, the depth, the endless opportunity for expression. I was in awe of what could be spoken with 10 fingers and 88 keys.

I pursued a BM-Music Education from UW-Whitewater to satiate my love of music and playing piano. Upon graduation, I taught in the schools for a year and longed fro my piano, so off to grad school I went. I completed my MM-Collaborative Piano at UW-Milwaukee and deepened my love for the vast variety of moods I could portray through my fingers. I enjoyed many experience as Musical Director and Assistant Musical Director in a variety of settings, along with being a choral accompanist. These served to foster the joy of story telling through music.

My passion for reading beyond the notes on the page yielded writing the notes themselves. I had no idea there was a wellspring of 'words to be spoken' through my own composing. The journey continues, the path unfolds, and the echoes resound. It is with humble gratitude that I offer these pieces to you. ~Ann

Track Information

*All poem and prayer references are excerpted from "Fall in Love with the Whispers of Your Heart, Book 1" by Ann Ruane

Track 1: Divine Spirit, inspired by the closing poem of book 1.
Refrain: O, Divine Spirit, I seek your wisdom. I seek your truth. O, Divine Spirit, come and speak to me.
Verse 1: Teach me to appreciate the gits of this life. Teach me to love all of me.
Verse 2: Teach me to forgive so i may cleanse my heart. Teach me to speak truth.
Verse 3: Use me as a vessel for your light and your love. Teach me to use my gifts.
Teach me to find laughter. Teach me to find joy. Teach me to see all the blessings around me.
Let me hear my heart. (2x)

Track 2: Prayer Although the only lyrics are found in the Bridge, this piece was inspired by the poem opening the chapter on prayer.
Bridge: Speaking to my heart. Healing for my heart. Seeking in my heart. Be in my heart.

Track 6: Remembrance* Laura Fannon wrote "Remembrance" to suggest the beauty and pain of life after loss. She is deeply grateful to Ann for having created such a moving and evocative arrangement for this piece, as well as her nuanced and elegant performance of it. Laura lives in Northern California.

Track 7: See Me This piece is inspired by the opening poem for the chapter Feelings.

Track 8: Worthy "You are worthy because you are." The opening poem for the chapter Self-Worth inspired this piece.

Track 9: Awaken My Senses
Verse 1: Help me know the pain, this aching in my heart. Help me know the truth known from the start.
Verse 2: Help me hear the stories held so deep within. Help me hear the answers guiding where I begin.
Verse 3: Help me touch the wounds with love and gentle care. Help me touch the burdens that I bear.
Bridge: Seeing beauty in ev'ry place and Your presence in ev'ry face. Tasting richness and sweetness in my life.

Track 10: Sweet Surrender The poem on Forgiveness is set to the verses.
Verse 1: Merciful, compassionate, releasing, healing, freeing. Deep understanding, acceptance. Profound.
Verse 2: Gracious, vulnerable, deserving, allowing, welcoming. Necessary freedom from chains. Expansive.
Bridge: Sacred, holy, expression of Divine. Transforming., transmuting, transcending. Blessed.

Track 14: Teach Me This piece reflects the poem opening the chapter Being heard. Although there are no lyrics, the verses represent learning from your feet, hands, intuition, and the heart.

Track 17: Come Home This is my first authentic composition, based on the Opening Poem of my first book. Not only was theis piece the foundation of my composing, it also is a vulnerable representation of my own story.
Verse 1: The mind, noisy, grasping, and busy. Seeking answers, searching for purpose. Feeling lost and alone, wondering, wand'ring, directionless.
Refrain: Come home, come home to your heart. Your sacred vault of truth. Your sacred vault of truth. Come home, come home to your heart. Be curious, awaken, love. (2x)
Verse 2: Groping in the darkness, waiting for a glimmer of light. Then a whisper, a whisper to come home. Breathing, scared, unsure.
Verse 3:
The whisper returns. Quietly nudging to be heard.